Meet the First Recipient of the Brockport Chemical Science Merit Scholarship

Leila Doerrer

Freshman Leila Doerrer is the first recipient of the inaugural 2020 Brockport Chemical Science Merit Scholarship. Hear about her first impressions of SUNY Brockport and her time in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.

Doerrer shared her impressions at Brockport with Markus Hoffmann (Chair of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry). Below are some of the highlights from their conversation.

Doerrer enjoys living on campus as this allows her to immerse herself in her coursework and get to know her peers, in spite of the current social distancing due to the pandemic. She has utilized resources from the Academic Success Center including the spaces available for studying, computers, and tutoring.

Doerrer’s tip for incoming freshmen: Ask your instructors when you have questions. She has found them to be very approachable and always willing to take time to help and sort things out. Leila also expressed heartfelt gratitude for the Scholarship as it has reduced the financial burden, allowing her to stay focused on studying and learning at Brockport.

Please feel free to contact Professor Hoffmann for more information on the Brockport Chemical Science Merit Scholarship or for any inquiries about studying chemistry or biochemistry at SUNY Brockport.

Back to Brockport Today


Markus Hoffmann:

Posted: March 19, 2021