President Macpherson First to Receive Greater Brockport CommUNITY Award

The award was established to “encourage, recognize, and reward individuals who have made exceptional contributions to enhancing and solidifying the fabric of the Greater Brockport Community.”

The award is presented for “outstanding leadership in undertaking important innovative activities or creating significant new ways to strengthen the bonds of community” in Brockport. President Macpherson was singled out for her:

  • Leadership of the College and the Town-Gown Committee
  • Creation of the Brockport Community Breakfast series
  • Encouragement of a stronger presence by the College in the annual Holiday Parade
  • Service as a volunteer for the Western Monroe Historical Society’s Morgan-Manning House
  • Participation in various reading programs at the Seymour Library
  • Partnerships with the Brockport Central School District
  • General engagement with Village and community activities

The award, presented at the February 1, Village Board meeting, was established by William Andrews, former Brockport Deputy Mayor and SUNY Brockport professor emeritus.

Back to Brockport Today